Giraffe Shower Card

Standard

I found this great giraffe image on Graphic’s Fairy this week and thought it would make a super sweet shower card for a new baby boy. 

I choose a pattern from My Mind’s Eye with complimentary colors and layered it over a nice dot from Crate. I know it’s not really animal print….it’s more stylized…and more subtle.  I think it works well with the chocolate brown borders. I used a doily image trimmed from an additional sheet of M.M.E. paper, and another image from Graphic’s Fairy of a fun ticket. I used a stamp and chocolate ink from Stampin Up for the sentiment. There’s a few buttons and a brown bow with small polka dot flower with brad to  finish it off.

This card may get re purposed into a book cover??? It might also be a nice smash book cover to take to the hospital for the guests to journal a nice note to Mom and new baby and room for lot’s of tidbits that might not fit into a traditional scrapbook.

Looking forward to a day off tomorrow. It will be a while though before I get used to being at home with no paper to play with.

9 responses »

  1. Fab card and I agree it would make a lovely cover for an album or journal for the baby – its far too nice to hide away. Love the giraffe image – its got such a great expression.

  2. Oh…..giraffes are my passion. May I ask how you took the blanket effect off the original image? Hope the mom who receives this frames it for the baby’s room.

  3. Saw this on the Graphic Fairy’s blog and had to pop over to check it out. Love the color combination and composition. I definitely think you should use it as a smash book cover….an excellent idea that I’m sure the new Mom will absolutely love! Very creative…thanks for sharing your creation with fellow crafters. Now that I’ve found your site, I’ll definitely be back for more visits. Keep up the excellent work!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.