Love is in the Air Heart Canvas

Standard

Hey there Paper Peeps!  Thursday is quickly becoming my favorite day because my sweet friend Barbara and I take over the Gypsy Soul blog and share our projects using the fabulous chippies from GSL.   Today I’m showing a mixed media canvas inspired by my BOLB Kathy who encouraged me to work on a creation for a challenge.   I really love how it turned out. That being said….there were a few times in the process that I thought the only reasonable course of action would be to swear at it..throw it on the floor and stomp on it.  I think we all go through that sometimes with projects right?
Anyhoo enough of my blathering and on to the canvas….

Love Canvas 1

I started with a canvas and some pretty non-traditional colors and of course my big ol pile of chippies!

Love Canvas 2

Since I knew I wanted to layer a fair amount of chippies I kept those neutral so they would pop off the darker background. These flowers were actually hand painted to match at 4 am since the craft store isn’t open then to get ones that coordinated.

Love Canvas 3

The background was color washed then layered with texture paste and a damask stencil.

Love Canvas 4

To create a lot of dimension and build up the layers I used some drywall tape that has a crinkly torn edge and a similar color wash….. then stamped with an itty bitty script.

Love Canvas 5

I’m using the large frame to anchor the focal point which is a heart clipped from Valentine paper then finished with Gelatos and archival inks.  The butterfly chippie is centered on the heart and topped off with a large key ornament…more hand painted flowers and the Love sentiment.

Love Canvas 6

After painting the chippie gears I tucked them in with the dimensional flowers to lighten it up and to draw the eye to the bottom corner.
Gypsy Soul Laser Cut Supplies~
Other Supplies~
Ranger-Opaque Matte Texture Paste, Black Archival Ink, Damask Stencil, Weathered White Embossing Powder, Distress Paint in Tumbled Glass and Peacock Feathers.
Faber Castell-Gel Medium Matt
Versa Mark-Watermark Stamp
Gelatos-Aqua Dolce & Snow Cone & Coconut
Gesso
Art-C- Steel Luxe
Crafter’s Comapnion-Once In a Lifetime Stamp
Pearls and Flowers

I’m entering this project in the Frilly and Funkie Love is in the Air Challenge.

Okay that’s all for me. Wishing you all a happy and productive day with lots of time to be creative : ) G

 

7 responses »

  1. Wow, Ginny….this is gorgeous! i love the blue, grey, black and cream color palette. You were brave to stencil in black…but the damask looks amazing! I love the way you stacked and layered the elements here, too. The butterfly topped with the key is so whimsical and dreamy. I’m glad you listened to your BOLB and entered the “Love is in the Air” challenge at Frilly and Funkie!

  2. Fabulous Valentine canvas. Love the rich colour palette and all the various embellishments you added give it an elegant French feel. Thanks for joining us at Frilly and Funkie.
    Hugs!
    Cec

  3. Love this! The colour is gorgeous and all the layers and textures. Such romance! Thanks so much for joining us for the “Love is in the Air” challenge over at Frilly & Funkie.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.