October Linky Party with Crafty Secrets

Standard

Hey there Peeps! Time again for another fun Linky Party with the Designers at Crafty Secrets! Theme: Give Thanks with a Grateful Heart! This month we are focusing on our blessings. You can share Thanksgiving table decor, Place Cards, Wall Hangings, Thank You Notes, Hostess Gifts, Gratitude Journals, Layouts, Mixed Media Canvases…anything that has to do with counting our blessings, showing gratitude and being thankful.

You should be coming to me from Diane’s Blog.

Thankful Birds Wall Hanging 2

I created a Thankful Birds Wall Hanging using Birds and Blossoms Creative Scraps, Creating With Vintage Patterns CD.

Thankful Birds Wall Hanging 5

Thankful Birds Wall Hanging 4

Thankful Birds Wall Hanging 3

I’m also using trims and flowers from Really Reasonable Ribbon~Canvas Color Band Ribbon in Brown, Burlap String in Brown, and Sweetheart Blossoms.

I wanted to show you how I created the wreath…. I started with some wired berry garland from the floral dept at the craft store. I’m not really exactly sure what it’s supposed to be called as it’s just labeled as accessory.  Anyhoo…I got 2 colors of whatever it is and set to work.

IMG_7033I started with the light colored berries and made myself a good sized loop. Enough to get the packaging trough easily while I worked.IMG_7034Then I wrapped it around again to start filling it in. Remember it’s wired so you can shape it after you get all the layers done.

IMG_7036

Now add the darker colored berry and offset it a bit so all the berries won’t get bunched up together.

IMG_7037Here is the completed base…

IMG_7038It’s pretty already but I added some Sweetheart Blossoms to it.

IMG_7039

My natural instinct with flowers is to glue on as many as will fit….but for this  I liked a bit of the wreath base showing so less is more. But only this time!!!!!

IMG_7040For the finished wreath I added 4 orange and 4 brown. Then made myself stop however the voice in my head told me not to lol.

 

Thankful Birds Wall Hanging 1

Okay that’s all for me. Your next stop is Michelle. Wishing you all a happy and productive day with lots of time to be creative : ) G

7 responses »

  1. Would love to have that wreath just at my computer. The “piece” is lovely and all the little goodies you used on it are so sweet. Thanks for sharing.
    Victoria, BC

  2. I’ve seen this berry wire and wondered what to do with it. Thanks for this informative tutorial on making that delightful wreath. The colors of fall are just a feast for the eyes! Beautiful project!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.