Steampunk Expedition Greeting Card with Tutorial

Standard

Hey there Paper Peeps!  I’ve got a little steampunk inspiration coming your way inspired by some gorgeous masculine papers with hot air balloons. I pulled out some of my favorite steampunk chippies from Gypsy Soul Laser Cuts and loads of mixed media supplies and beautiful flowers.

Steampunk Expedition All Occasion Greeting Card on Etsy

 

 

 

 

Here’s a look at how I altered the chippies….

The most important thing is to select chipboard that will enhance your project.

Even if I’m going to finish the chippies with dark colors I base coat them in flat white paint.

I used a very thick coat of Iron Paste from Pentart and allowed to dry. Next I globbed on 3D Matte Gel from art basics to add a lumpy bumpy texture, then heat set to encourage the bubbling.

Using a cosmetic sponge I dabbed and smooshed on loads of alcohol inks.

I finished up the card with flowers, micro beads and twine.

Petaloo ~Chantilly Collection – Mixed Blooms Flowers – Blue Green, Darjeeling Collection – Floral Embellishments – Hydrangeas – Teal, Mixed Textured Mini Blossoms Teal

Gypsy Soul Laser Cuts~ Hot Air Balloons Net Style, Hanging Clock Set, Steampunk Shape Set.

Carta Bella~ Old World Travel

Additional Supplies used~ art basics -3D Matte Gel, Finnabair-Bronze Micro Beads,  Pentart-Iron Paste, Ranger Adirondack -Pitch Black & Rust, Ranger Alcohol Ink-Butterscotch & Stream & Copper.
Okay that’s all for me. Wishing all of you a happy and productive day : ) G

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for posting all your tips on altering the color of the chipboard pieces…very informative! I’ve been wondering how to do this. Your card is loaded with things of interest!! Nice!

Leave a Reply

