August Blog Hopping with Cheery Lynn

Standard

Hey there all you fabulous Paper Peeps!  It’s a great day for having a blog hop don’t you think???  We do!!!!

Flower Power

We were tasked this month to create projects featuring flowers created with the Cheery Lynn Dies and maybe share some tips or techniques. You should be coming to me from the lovely and talented Christina. If you’re just joining in you’ll want to head over to the Cherry Lynn Designs Blog to start at the beginning.

I chose to create a Halloween card. A tip I can share about flower dies is….why not use a holiday or flower die for something other than it’s intended season?  I selected the Poinsettia Strip die and cut the flowers with black cardstock to make them work for Halloween.

Halloween Village 1

I’m sure you can guess I had a lot of fun creating these spooktacular Poinsettias.

Halloween Village 2

This little Winter Neighborhood Border village also comes from the Christmas section…I added white cardstock to the back to enhance the window openings and secured it with a nice curve to be dimensional. It also gives me room to layer in some additional flowers.

Halloween Village 3

Finally something from the real Halloween section lol these groovy Jack-O’-Lanterns cut from polka dot papers and inked well to enhance the details.

Halloween Village 4

I wanted to bring the orange color up to the corner so I just secured some buttons tied with string : ) Easy peasy.  The smaller flowers are Cherry Blossoms that were finished simply with a shaping tool and a little distress ink.

Halloween Village 5

Anddd we’re back in the Christmas section with the Joy to the World wreath minus the sentiment part and topped off with additional blooms. You can see I added some Black Diamond Stickles to the tips of the petals and Pop micro beads to the center. A fabby layered bow with seasonal ribbon and topped with some twine and a painted jingle bell and this card is done!

~Cheery Lynn Designs Supplies~

Joy to the World Wreath B481

Cherry Blossom B129

Jack- O’-Lantern B594

Winter Neighborhood Border B323

Poinsettia Strip B324

~Really Reasonable Ribbon Trims~

Spider Web on Black Satin

Houndstooth

Black Diamond Stickles

POP Micro Beads American Craft’s

Okay that’s all for me. Your next stop in the hop is Miss Bonnie…her project is gonna knock your socks off. Wishing you all a happy and productive day with lots of time to be creative : ) G

37 responses »

  1. Fantastic card Ginny! I love the Halloween theme and the black poinsettias with glittered tips look GREAT on a Halloween card. I love getting lots of uses from all my dies too and this is fantabulous!

  2. I would have never thought to use Christmas die cuts for Halloween! This is brilliant! I absolutely love it! Thank you for sharing this with us all!

  3. Oh, lovely! Cheers to you for making your card unique, beautiful, and so much fun that I really want to make one of my own.

  4. Love your card Ginny! Your black flowers are wonderful with the stickles added to the edges. Thanks for sharing with us.

  5. I love how you think “outside the box” using the winter village, wreath and Poinsettias for a Halloween card.. Simply marvelous. Loving the spooktacular Poinsettias. You just make Halloween more fun with this card. Bravo!!

  6. I love that you used the houses on this Halloween card. But I especially love that you used the poinsettia flower die in black! Very original. It shows how you can successfully use other holiday dies for a different holiday.

  7. I love how you used the poinsettia on this card. I never would have thought of making it out of black paper but it’s perfect on this card!!! Fantastic card!

Leave a Reply

