June Linky Party with Crafty Secrets

Standard

Time for another fun Linky Party with Crafty Secrets. This months theme? Let’s hear it for the boys. Perfect timing for Father’s Day right???

This month is all about the guys in our lives! Create a masculine themed project that any guy would love. Possible themes: Fishing, Cars, mustaches, Sports, Hiking, and Father’s Day. Really get creative and do ANYTHING BUT A CARD this month.

I totally broke the rules…and made a card : (   But that’s really like me to go rouge right?  Next month I will tow the line and not break the rules.

I did create a fabulous card..that is so ridiculous it made me laugh the whole time I was working on it!

MrMustache1Bwa ha ha Mr. Mustache Father’s Day Card!!!!! I used the vintage images and printed paper from Crafty Secrets Digital Barber Shop Kit.

MrMustache3MrMustache2MrMustache4These super fabulous trims are from Really Reasonable Ribbon. Red Chevron Striped on Twill & Canvas Color Band with Stitched Edge in Teal.

MrMustache5These star embellies coordinate perfectly and were a cinch to make!

IMG_6022 IMG_6023 IMG_6024 IMG_6025 IMG_6026A few things I have figured out about heat embossing. 1. I will always burn myself while trying to emboss something smallish…so I used a low tack tape to stick the stars to a piece of cardstock.  This worked well also to work on lots of small images and keep them together. Yes..it did waste a bit of embossing medium and powder…but I’ll take that over burned fingers any day. 2. If you use a really nearly worn out medium pad to apply the adhesive….it will stick in a random sort of way and not give perfect coverage…I have found that after embossing this gives you a really cool texture.  So totally an accident…but a good one I think!

I encourage you to stop by and check out the projects made by the Crafty Secrets Team…..I’ve had a sneak peek and they are so great!! Also check out the details for the fabulous prize offered for this challenge at Crafty Secrets.

Kathy Clement: Kathy by Design
Darlene Pavlick: Dar’s Crafty Creations
Diane Hover: Nellie’s Nest
Elizabeth Lincoln:  Paper Passtimes
Gloria Stengel: Scraps of Life
Melody Clement: Paper Melody’s
Michele Kovack: Thoughts of a Cardmaking Scrapbooker
Shantaie Fowler:  Inking Pink
Sheila Rumney: Sheila Rumney Design and Photography
Teresa Goblirsch Horner:Victorian Paper Queen

 

 

8 responses »

  1. I so love this card! It makes me snicker every time I look at it. The embossed stars are fabby, too! I always use a pair of tweezers to hold my paper images while embossing…just so ya know! Great use of the Barber Shop Kit…fabby layers and loads of fun! Thanks for another great Linky Party Project! xo

  2. Great minds and all that, it looks like the same things appealed to me this month. I love what you did with the Barbershop kit. The stars are great I like the stickled edges.

  3. Love all things guys…why? Because I can’t seem to think of them on my own…such is life. thanks for this great card idea!

  4. You are amazing! LOL! (Don’t feel bad, I didn’t follow the rules this time either … oops!)
    Love this card and your stars are AWESOME … what a fabulous addition to this already delightfully masculine creation! I’m inspired to go make some stars now … thanks for the tut!!

  5. Man oh man (pun intended…lol) is this a great card or what!!! You always have the best details, and those stars are a perfect match….this “guy” reminds me so much (or should I say “so mustache”)..heehee…of my sister’s FIL it had to make me laugh!! Great tutorial on the stars..and yep I have burned fingers, too…so will keep that in mind!!

Leave a Reply

