Christmas Card with Instagram Tip and Graphic 45

Standard

Well hello there Peeps!  I’m excited to share my project today  because it’s  a project from Graphic 45. They asked us to share a tip that could be explained easily in an Instagram pic.   The tip I’m sharing is actually something I use every single day at the shop. When I’m creating cards…..I keep a stack of masks made from manilla folders with the dimensions of the card cut from the middle. I make 6 1/2 x 5 inch cards….

Instagram Tip 2The mask blocks out all the surrounding patterns and shows you what the papers would look like in the finished card size. That way you can move the papers and images around until you get an arrangement you like before you even begin cutting the paper.  I use these so often I have quite a few. My shop masks all had doodles and phone numbers written on them….one had a coffee cup ring and glitter yikes!  I made a new one just for this pic!

Instagram Tip 1You can see how much easier it is to visualize the finished card when you can un-see the surrounding pattern.

Here is the finished card I created using the mask.

Instagram Tip 3I used The Twelve Days of Christmas from Graphic 45.

Instagram Tip 5I painted and inked a little chipboard frame and layered on lots of fussy cut images and vintage buttons.

Instagram Tip 4More fussy cut images here with festive jingle bells, a glittery star, Ivory Wrinkle Ribbon, and scrolly chipboard shapes painted to match the frame.

Once you try this tip I know you’ll be making your own stack of masks. Have them in every size of card you create…just don’t set your coffee cup on them lol.

Here’s a list of paper pretties I used to create this card:

Graphic 45 12 Days of Christmas~ Drummers Drumming

Graphic 45 12 Days of Christmas ~Holly and Ivy

Graphic 45 12 Days of Christmas~ Golden Rings

Graphic 45 12 Days of Christmas~ Swans a Swimming

Graphic 45 12 Days of Christmas ~ My Turtle Dove

Graphic 45 12 Days of Christmas Banners

Black Cardstock

Really Reasonable Ribbon

Tim Holtz Walnut Distress Ink

Chipboard Frame

Dusty Attic Chipboard

Glitter Star

Painted Jingle Bells

Vintage Buttons

Chalkboard Sticker

I hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day with lots of time to be creative : ) G

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

