Patriotic Banner Ornament Tutorial

Standard

Hello all you fabulous Paper Peeps! I’m dropping in to share an easy tutorial for making some fun and festive Patriotic Banner Ornaments. I’m calling them ornaments since I plan to hang mine on our Americana tree. I think they would look just a great on a card base or as a tag.

IMG_3194The finished project : )

2014-03-24I started with a banner shape of wood grain pattered paper. Shabby chic of course! Next I added a well inked doily. There’s a vintagy postcard image centered over the doily and topped off with a Little Bitty Bag. I added a well inked tag to the bag.

2014-03-241Next I layered on a scallop die cut of printed paper and a blue bordered vintage tag.  I added a generous strip of my new favorite ribbon Center Stitch Burlap with Navy Stripe.  I had a fun little ruler image in the scrap and salvage box….and I think it finished of the bottom of the tag nicely.

2014-03-243For the bottom of the tag…I added handcrafted tinsel topped crepe fringe. Next I attached a very vintage image that was Stickled and inked. The poofy bow comes in right beside the image and topped of with Wild Orchid Crafts Sweetheart Blooms.  Last but not least…I punched a couple of holes in the top and threaded more of the burlap ribbon through to create a hanger and finished it off with nice big loopy bows of Red Gingham Ribbon from Really Reasonable Ribbon.

Okay….that’s it for me today….I’m off to finish packaging kits for shipping, then off to the shop to prep for class tonight. I hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day and find some time to be creative. : )G

6 responses »

  1. I just love all these layers…so amazing. the hand crafted tinsel is divine…the inking, the BOWS…oh, my! You really captured the spirit of Americana! Wonderful tutorial, too.

  2. Thank you so much for showing how you build your work. It’s clear from a look, that your compositions are richly layered, but breaking it down by step, really hits home on just how much skill, and how many layers it takes, to achieve this look. Truly awesome!

  3. I cannot tell you how much I appreciate this post! I am so glad I found it via Pinterest! I have such a hard time “layering” and this makes it look a lot easier than I thought! THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

