Shabby Winter Banner

Standard

We had lot’s of fun creating winter themed banners in class last night.  I wanted to have some decor to hang on the  mantle for the winter season that wasn’t specifically Christmasy…..so I could leave it up all season long.  The inspiration for the banner was the sweet little shabby chic village I created last Christmas. Some may recognize it from my post from Christmas day last year….if not..here’s a sneak peek of it again…I displayed it in the tiny hutch at the shop.

img_0546img_0518img_0522These houses started out as  village houses…nothing nice or collectable in the group….painted them all and add loads of glitters and flocking.  I used a Gimp program to trim the background from the pics and layered them on lovely antique French postcards and set about creating a wintry banner with glittery poinsettias, painted-misted-and glittered rosettes, tinsel trim and glittery letters.  I added lot’s of pop dots so the elements are very dimensional!!!  There’s also trim from Really Reasonable Ribbon. I think it’s shabbylicious!

IMG_2665IMG_2666IMG_2667

If you’d like a kit of your own….please check out the details in the Etsy shop. Winter Banner Kit.

Thanks to Anna we also had a special guest. Four legged that is…..Jinx came to play paper with us!!!! He is the most precious beautiful puggy puppy ever!!!!! I just love him!2013-12-03_19-57-46_847Yes…that is glitter on his little nosy : ) Thanks Anna for making my day with some sloppy puppy smooches!

I have declared this as a playin paper for fun day…..I can’t hardly wait to create some fun projects with my Christmas stash!

I hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day and find some time to be creative : ) G

2 responses »

  1. I just love what you did with those vintage houses. The banner is wonderful. OK that’s not much glitter, just a little on the nose! I would have expected to see him glittery all over.

Leave a Reply

