Christmas Shadow Box Tutorial

Standard

This is a great time of year to create seasonal decor and gifts…and if you can recycle an item from your home and re-create it for a new life…all the better. That’s what I did here. I repurposed a shadow box frame that used to live in my kiddos nautical themed bathroom. I took all the goodies out..(saving them for another project lol) and gave it a quick coat of spray paint. I’ll show you the finished frame first…then I’ll show you how I decked it up for the holidays!

IMG_2646Isn’t it shabby-tastic!!!! I quite love how it turned out : )

IMG_2640After the painting…I added a sheet of neutral background paper.

IMG_2641Then I added a real authentic vintage sheet music page…has a beautiful Christmas theme.

IMG_2642Next was a strip at the top and bottom of a sweet striped and flocked paper.

IMG_2643This pretty glittery ornament was a fabulous find. It fit perfectly and has my favorite holiday sentiment.

IMG_2644I added many spacers to the back of this printed vintage image from Graphic’s Fairy so I would have enough room for the ornament….plus I like the depth it adds. I Stickled this image to accent the details.IMG_2645Two purchased poinsettias that I trimmed a fair bit to get them to fit nicely and not obscure to much of the image.

IMG_2646

Last but not least two beautiful Really Reasonable Ribbon Trims. Red Plaid and Snowflakes on Red Satin.Topped off with a glittery pine cone.

Hopefully this will encourage you to look around and see what you can reuse to make a super special addition to your holiday decor…or a gift for friends and family.

I hope you all have a happy and productive day and find some time to be creative : )  G

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

