Fall Flower Makeover Tutorial

Standard

Hi there all it’s Ginny here to share a great tutorial on how you can transform basic flowers from the craft store ( or your own stash lol I know we all have faux flowers in our supplies.) I needed some flowers to embellish a fall inspired mini album we were creating for our class this week…and try as I might I could not find any that fit the size or style I needed without them looking too “Thanksgivingy” So I transformed these rather plain flowers into a warmer and seasonally fitting embellishment with some ink, Liquid Pearls and trim from Really Reasonable Ribbon.

IMG_2532Basic flower off a stem with lot’s of the same blooms. It’s not really so bad…but it can be better!

IMG_2533Pull the layers apart.

IMG_2534Cut the shank off the center. It’s plastic…so it’s pretty easy to get through.

IMG_2535

Ink all the layers. I used my current favorite Gathered Twigs Distress Ink.

IMG_2536Cut rough circles from Faux Burlap Antique Gold trim and roll to tatter edge.

IMG_2537Reassemble using hot glue between the layers.

IMG_2538Using Bisque Liquid Pearls smash and spread it into the center to lighten it up and along the petals to add a shimmery accent. I think you could have fun experimenting with different colored flowers and inks and pearls. Maybe a Christmasy poinsettia?

IMG_2539I trimmed these leaf shapes from another stem…the leaves were actually too big to use in their  original state….so I just nipped them in a bit. To the edges I added a nice line of Cinnamon Stickles for detail.
Once I had two of the  flowers transformed…I got out the glue gun again and attached them close to the base.. then layered them over the jazzed up leaves.

IMG_2531IMG_2530I think they look fabulous on this Count your Blessings Fall Mini Album….it’s seasonal without being Thanksgivingy. Hope this inspires you to give your flowers a makeover so they will coordinated perfectly with your projects!
Wishing you all a happy and productive day and time to be creative : ) G

3 responses »

  1. Wow! This is amazing and it hardly looks like the same flower. You’re very clever! I so wish I lived closer so I could attend your classes. They look like so much fun. Blessings to you~ Birgit

Leave a Reply

