Crafting with a Heavy Heart

Standard

I usually try to keep my posts upbeat and positive. I want Polly’s to be a refuge from all the craziness of the world. But there are times in your life when you must be creative for the sake of something sad.  At my Husbands work they recently lost a member of their work family suddenly. Although I do not know the woman who passed…I can sympathize with how they all must be feeling. I felt compelled to create a card for them to give to the family. While I was working out the details…I decided upon a tag booklet instead….filled with tags so they could all write their own sentiment and add it to the inside pockets.

IMG_1432

I started with lot’s of paper layers and topped it off with a vintage image that I added the sentiment to.

IMG_1441There’s a mix of paper roses and wrinkle ribbon bows. I layered in some hand rolled burlap flowers as well to anchor the lighter colors.

IMG_1442Inside there’s pockets to hold the tags.

I hope when the family receives this booklet it will give them a sense of how much the woman was cared for by her workplace family.

I hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day….and find some time to tell your loved ones just how much they mean to you. G

10 responses »

  1. What a lovely and thoughtful idea. But then, it is you and we all know how lovely and thoughtful you are. I miss seeing you. What classess are upcoming?

  2. This is beautiful and the family will treasure it always. Very thoughtful and kind of you to create this beautiful rememberance.

  3. This is a beautiful and encouraging card. What a fabulous idea for how to handle a sadness at a workplace. It helps everyone open lines of communication and talk to each other during a difficult time. Also what a great addition to the usual sending of flowers, flowers fade but the card can be looked at long after! Smashing really!!!

  4. All of us here were overwhelmed with your art. We are each filling in our thoughts to the family. I know Stacey will be hugging you with her spirit. I know her family will be touched. Thank you, Ginny! You are truly amazing!

  5. Thanks for sharing. It is a beautiful book and a remarkable sympathy. I used something like that for a happy occasion – when I retired from teaching. Students and other teachers left wonderful words that I can revisit. Good idea that will be appreciated. js

Leave a Reply

