Shabby Teal Butterfly and Flowers

Standard

This is a layout I created for this months challenge over at Let’s get shabby. I am learning to break out of my comfort zone and start altering the base with paints…inks and sprays before I layer on the goodies. I am hooked….so be on the lookout for more : )

First a look at our inspiration picture:

Sept shabby

Soo beautiful!!!! I tried to convince Mandy to let me use that for my profile pic. She said no : (

IMG_1118IMG_1123To get them to match perfectly…..I hand painted the roses…first in teal, then white accents, then Stickles, then glitter. I relly love how they turned out : ) The inspiration pic had a pop of pink so I added the tiny pink flowers on stems. To anchor the smaller flowers I layered them on a huge flower that I painted and cut in half.

IMG_1121This beautiful butterfly image is from Ephemera’s Vintage Garden. 

I found it the same morning I saw the inspiration pic…so I figured it was meant to be right????

Did you notice the amazing texture peeking out from behind the chipboard frame? That’s Faux burlap trim from Really Reasonable Ribbon. I did trim off the wired edge and pulled a few threads to give it a tattered look.

IMG_1122More flowers for the top. You can see all the layers of paper here too. You should head over to Let’s get shabby to see the other projects from the Design Team they are so inspiring…I love them all : ) If you like to make shabby projects…you should enter the challenge and maybe win the beautiful prize.

One more quick announcement…..it’s very exciting….Really Reasonable Ribbon is having a Design Team call. If you love to make projects using beautiful ribbons and trims you should click the link to check out the details. I will say that Bonnie is so super awesome to work with….a really fabulous team : )

Sorry about the long post lol. I hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day and find some time to be creative… G

8 responses »

  1. This is stunning work. Love the colors, and your inspiration. I agree, we want to see your charming face… Re: yesterday’s post.. you can NEVER have to much pink. Love that piece tool

Leave a Reply

