Monochromatic Theme for RRR Challenge

Standard

I created this card for the challenge over at Really Reasonable Ribbon. This time around the theme is monochromatic.

The other D.T. girlies got to my go-to colors first…so I’m workin outside the comfort zone on this one. What???? Not pink? Not red?

IMG_0764Sooooo. Grey it is. I mixed and matched some pretty patterns and solids to add lot’s of layers.

IMG_0766Since grey is not a color I normally work with I didn’t have any grey flowers in my stash so I  had to paint them to match.

IMG_0769I choose to use the Diamond  Satin Metal Grey ribbon to make a nice poofy bow, then added Oyster Bakers Twine, and my painted and tinseled flowers. I added a few sparkly bits trimmed from a floral stem and a Tim Holtz pin to hold a butterfly I created from the coordinating scraps. There is also 2 sparkly topped pins from Maya Road.

IMG_0767I used two little tiny clips to hold a scalloped border on the top of this large banner piece. The die cut sentiment was the color inspiration.

IMG_0772IMG_0771Everything is better with a super poofy bow on it right???

I think this card would be nice for Valentine’s but it would work equally well for anniversary or birthday.

Okay so if you’re ready to create your own fabulous monochromatic project you can enter the challenge at RRR. Just click the links and follow the easy peasy rules : )

I hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day and find some time to be create : ) G

10 responses »

  1. I think you’ve done a fabulous job – elegant, understated and I don’t think it would have looked as good in a stronger colour. I love the detail of the twine woven in with the ribbons.

  2. Your card is breathtaking. I love all your artwork. One of the cards that I purchased from your Etsy is sitting on my shelf as decor. I was thinking of putting it in a frame, but I am afraid it will distract from it’s beauty.
    Thanks for sharing.
    *Smiles*

Leave a Reply

