The curse of a scrapbook store owner

Standard

One of the biggest challenge of owning a scrapbook store is the need to have one of every different item I order.  Like a kid in my own candy store lol. I’ve even been know to create a project to justify to myself the need to open yet another package. Take for instance this beach inspired mini album….. I really wanted to try out the Gathered Twig Distress Ink Pad from my recent order of Ranger Inks. Decided to try it out on some chipboard to see if I could get a weathered painted wood look. I kinda love it : ) I used the chipboard pieces throughout the pages for a consistent look…and I was having too much fun playing with the ink pad to stop at one piece : )

IMG_0740The chipboard frame looks a lot like an old painted dock or pier. Especially with the shabby look of all the other layers. I worked in a generous strip of Ivory Jute Ribbon from Really Reasonable Ribbon…..the Chocolate Brown Seam Binding and Jute Natural Ribbon on the rings is too. I love the textural and natural look it adds.

IMG_0744I even added a bit of the Jute Ribbon to fluff up the flower arrangement. Flowers on masculine projects can be such a challenge. Oh and I also talked myself into opening a package of Ideology pins to give the arrangement a little height with the tiny blue star.

IMG_0743IMG_0746Each set of pages has more of the netting, and inked chipboard and a beach themed sticker. The page on the right has room for nice large pictures and a vintage inspired tab. The left page has 2 large pockets for pics and mementos and 1 large journaling tag.

IMG_0747I love love love those chipboard pieces.

IMG_0748This set of pages shows the journal tag in the back pocket. You can really add ton’s of goodies to this type of mini. I made the pages super sturdy and thick so it will hold up to lot’s of showing off.

IMG_0749IMG_0750So maybe this will keep me out of the new stock for a little while. Nah. Nearing a blog milestone here at Polly’s Paper. We will very soon be at our 600th subscriber. Yayyyy!!! Trying to think of what would make a nice giveaway gift for a contest when we get there. Anybody have any good ideas?

Hope you all enjoy a happy and productive day and find some time to be creative. G

6 responses »

  1. Again, Love the Mini, so cute and masculine at the same time. Just got my package from Esty, just in time, needed a sympathy card so one of the 5 will become that! Thanks for more great pics.

  2. The photographs of your creations are wonderful. I examine each one very very carefully – gathering inspiration. But the very very best part of your post was reading that you were having “fun” trying out your new products. Life is too short not to have fun Ginny. XXOo V

  3. I think you outdid yourself this time, young lady! Love this one…. reminds me I need to head south for a gentle warm breeze soon…… yeah, okay… Im dreamin’…. But this one just increased my longing. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

