A Day Well Spent

Standard

I’ve indulged my need to make myself busy in the kitchen today. I would traditionally be knee deep in Christmas cookies and casseroles and rolls. Life is a little  bit simpler now. A little bit quieter. Jonathan had a friend over. Dylan : ) Nice young man. We had a  sleepy morning with pancakes…then they spent their time playing video games…and football in the yard : )

So I puttered in the kitchen. Something a little bit bready sounded good. And something a little bit creamy???? Don’t mind if I do.

IMG_0465Homemade cream of mushroom soup. Chopping and dicing and then saute. Then a nice long simmer. Strangely enough…I don’t like mushrooms….but I love cream of mushroom soup. I’m so conflicted lol. For those of you worrying that we’ve fallen off the wagon….don’t panic…it’s vegan : )

IMG_0472-001A lovely foccacia to dunk in the soup. Isn’t bread baking in the oven the most divine aroma a house can have???

IMG_0473The recipe makes 2 foccacias. The little bread nugget on the top is what’s left of the first one 5 minutes after it came out of the oven. Did I mention we had 3 teenaged boys today ??? Happy children with full bellies is just the best blessing you could ask for.

So as you can tell…I’m having a wonderful day….hope you are too. Huggs G

7 responses »

  1. I so enjoy your blog, you are soo gifted in many ways! Sounds like you had a super day in the kitchen. I started baking as well, getting ready for a cookie swap this week! Blessings and joy!

  2. oh my, that does look heavenly, please share your recipes, luv to have them. day 6, with no sugar, sort of getting used to it. see you on tues.

  3. Yummy!
    Last night for very late dinner, I made pizza with hot homemade salami (from local produce stall at market), lots of mushrooms, garlic, olives, basil, goats cheese and tomato paste.
    Soup is a good idea for tonight – Leek from our vege patch with broccoli and a touch of garlic! Served with polenta bread from yesterdays market.
    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Your pizza sounds wonderful. Wish we had a local produce market like you. I love to find locally sourced seasonal food. I’ve never tried leeks. My new “tried it because I’m brave” food is broccollini not exactly sure what it is a hybrid of….broccoli and something. It was very tasty on a summer pasta we had last week with sundried tomatoes. Wish you lived closer so we could have pot lucks…your cooking style is right up my alley : ) Thanks for sharing!!!!

Leave a Reply

