It’s just an itty bitty treasure

Standard

Friend Kim brought me in a nice big stack of vintage file folders last week as a little gifty. Isn’t she sweet??? These folders were made from really crazy heavy paper and I knew they would be perfect for projects that I was going to want to use a lot of heavy embellishments and would also hold up to “wet glues” like glossy accents. I was feeling in the need to make myself a little something to cheer myself up yesterday so I got out the stack of folders and created myself a template for a paper house. Try # 1 resulted in a very nice house…but a bit too large for using paper frugally so I went back at it and created another template for a tiny house. I really love how it turned out.

Isn’t it just precious? It’s only 3 1/2 inches square at the base : )

Remember earlier when I said I wanted a frugal use of paper??? Well I guess that didn’t apply to buttons. : )

To give it a shabby look…I dry brushed almost everything with acrylic paint. Even the ribbon. Even the pom pom trim. Even the paper!!! And the Tim Holtz metal name plate embellishment.

Such a tiny little thing. Soft and sweet. Notice all the glitter and flocking I applied to the buttons on the roof? If I had used regular cardstock all the glue would have soaked through and left me with a huge gloppa gluppa mess. Thanks to Kim for the donation.

I added the stick pin and pearls as just a little extra something special.  I thought I might use it as an ornament on my shabby chic shop tree….but you can’t see the buttons if you view it from the bottom…..and the shop tree has to be displayed on the top of the center island fixtures….so I’ll just leave it on my desk for a quicker mood picker upper. I’ve got a lot more files left…so be on the lookout for more tiny houses : )

I should mention in closing that this tiny house was very crooked when I glued it down : ( but once I had all the goodies glued to it I couldn’t tell at all. Yayyy buttons!!!! I can also recommend that if you like to make your own templates like  I do…you invest in a really good quilting ruler….I use mine all the time. If you’ve not seen one…they are larger and have markings to 1/8 inch and are clear so you can see right through them to line things up : )

10 responses »

  1. Very adorable… I just snagged a nice quilter’s ruler at Walmart in the clearance aisle for a buck!!! This would be a great project for using it.

  2. Such a gorgeous shabby chic house! LOVE those glittery buttons!! Hey I’m assuming the hop fell through since I haven’t heard back from you ~ sent you a couple of emails and didn’t hear anything. I haven’t started working on anything for it since you said someone was going to be contacting me. If it’s still a go, you’ll have to drop me a line and hopefully I can get the stuff done. I’m not as quick as you are, you crank this stuff out like a machine! Take care!!

Leave a Reply

