Yay we finally got some rain!

Standard

We finally got some rain yesterday…just a little…but we needed it so desperately. Our poor lawn has gone from dry to extra crispy in this drought.  That with the high temps have driven us inside a lot this year. Lucky for me…that’s where the paper is tee hee hee.

I actually made this card for the brad challenge I posted at facebook…but I couldn’t wait to post it : /

Oh how I love to layer flowers. I added 2 sweet little stick pins from Maya Road. Oh and a poofy little bow of seam binding from RRR.

Oh dear…I may be on layer overload here…there’s 10 if you count the burlap strip I stitched in. The lovely vintage postcard on the edge is an image from Graphic’s Fairy. I used the Word program to type out the sentiment. The Fabulous green patterned paper is from Lily Bee.

I used a rubon sentiment for this card. It was sheer…so I applied it first to a sheet of white paper…then trimmed it out and layered it over a sweet doily.

Who would think you could match orange chevron to green checks??? I think it’s a  bright and cheerful combination. Of course I did break it up with a neutral solid.

I added another little bit from the rubon sheet to these tags. I choose a zigzag setting on my sewing machine this time for fun.

Once I had the machine out…I decided to try to gather some of that burlap to create a dimensional look…then I twisted and stitched down some seam binding to finish off the top. I JUST LOVE IT!!!!! A simple little poofy bow is all it needed to complete this lovely greeting card.

Last….but not least. This is my fav card of the day. Super soft colors and sweet images. The blue checkered paper is from My Mind’s Eye. The “frame” image is trimmed from a sheet of Pink Paislee.

The charming little girl is from Cosmo Cricket…as well as the journal tag I layered her on. I created this extra fluffy flower by trimming and layering some felt flowers from my stash. Topped off with vintage button.

More burlap???? Yes please!!!! Stitching it down adds a lot of stability to this card.  More buttons too…since you can never get enough : )

Hope the weather holds out today so my boys will enjoy their trip to Cedar Point with the Boy Scouts! It will be a long day of missing them. Thankfully we have folks coming in to crop today…so they can keep me company.

I’ve added these cards to the Etsy shop. Click on the link on the right to go to Polly’s on Etsy to check out the details.

6 responses »

  1. hey great cards. luv the burlap, never too much layering. have a good one. having overnight company should clean up, ahhh soon

  2. These are all so beautiful Ginny!!!!! You have so much to teach people about designing beautiful cards 🙂 I always leave your blog with some new inspiration. Today it’s that stitched burlap! GENIUS

Leave a Reply

