Patriotic Wall Pocket

Standard

Oh how I love the summer holidays : ) Not to mention that the 4th of July is D.H. Kenny’s birthday! So I’m always on the lookout for items to decorate our house for an Americana theme. I struck gold this week at Nichols Stafford. The sweet and charming shop keeper Laura is constantly bringing in new items so you have to visit often or you might miss out on something wonderful. I found a  metal wall pocket that was very nice as it was…but you know me…I have to glue paper to everything.

I filled it with some old wall paper rolls that I wrapped in bits of vintage sheet music tied simply with a bit of twine.

I used an image from Graphics Fairy and added lot’s of dimensional and handcrafted embellishments.

I created this fun arrangement with patriotic goodies to give a very built out appearance. It was far too many steps to make these great little “vintage” crackly flags but I am so pleased with how they turned out I will be making many more. I decided once I had this embellishment done it would be great to put on a backing and wear it as a pin! Guess what I will be making this week on Jane Day lol.

I was able to work into my patriotic theme a star spangled banner. Not in the traditional sense…but subtly.

This is my actual star spangled banner I created for Kenny last year for his birthday and was my inspiration for the wall pocket.

7 responses »

  1. So enjoyed what you made and the bunting. I’m looking at all banners to see what I’m going to do this year, trying to get inspired. I sometimes make something for Memorial day that I can use for July 4th. also. Love making decorations for house and porch. Yours is so great, really unique. I’ll have to look for that image you used from Graphics Fairy. Don’t know what I’d do without her generosity.

Leave a Reply

