Vintage Art Journal

Standard

I’ve been super busy wrapping up big projects in the shop and preparing for meetings so I haven’t had as much creative time for my own projects this week. Yesterday I did finally work on an art journal for the shop  that turned out even better than I had hoped.

I should have started by saying that Dear Jane came and left Tuesday in a whirlwind of glitter and paint and fairy images. In her wake was left a pile of paper of sweet vintage images she printed for me. I am fairly certain she did not intend for me to use them all on one project.

I created the base for this book by sewing lot’s and lot’s of layers of paper together. Next came patterned papers and cardstock and all the pretty images from Jane.

There’s a stitched lace ruffle topped off with a shabby chic white rose and fiber trim accent. I love this striped ribbon : )

I left the inside pages pretty neutral to allow for more  from pictures, mementos and journaling. These patterns are from Webster’s Pages and My Mind’s Eye.

Turns out to be a great way use up the larger bits from the scrap and salvage box. I was able to create this journal without cutting into any new sheets of paper. Hooray for me!!! Crate and Webster’s Pages combined to make these pages. I used my new favorite Tim Holtz product to finish off the edges of my pages. Picket Fence Distress Stain has changed my life forever.

Because this book is bound on rings…there’s plenty of room for larger embellishments and mementos. This print is from Pink Paislee.

This typography print is from Pink Paislee. Love it!!!!

Oh how I love these sewn pages!!!!! Look how thick and chunky they are. After sewing the layers these pages are super sturdy. It also gives the journal a nice weight.

They look great now….but over time the edges will fray apart even more and create a really awesome texture. I love projects that have a very hand crafted appeal.

16 responses »

  1. This is awesome! I love those chunky pages too and I didn’t know a sewing machine would even work on something that thick! I’ll have to remember to ask you about that when I come in today or tomorrow. The hubby just got home from the hospital on Wednesday (did I tell you he fell out of a tree and broke his back and shattered his heel in 3 places????)

  2. Such a gorgeous album you have created! I’ve been sewing a lot of paper myself lately. Much better than making clothing when I have to rip out and re-sew!

  3. Oh that is so lovely! The papers and images are just fabulous and I would want to write in it straight away if it were mine. Margie x

  4. hey you- did you use chipboard in between and stitch them all together? I do love the look and then how it will all start to age, so sweet! My board book will be up on Saturday, it turned out cute and my girlfriend loved it.

  5. Amazing! You can just keep adding pages.
    Like you said, adding more paper to a page keeps it sturdy and you can add your photo or momentos without knowing the paper will bend etc.
    I made a small memory album with pockets in it to hold photos etc as well as tags for people to write in. Next time I will add layers of paper to a page to give it a more sturdy feel.
    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I love this album. I have the same questions asked previously about what kinds of paper you used, and how many layers were you able to stitch through? Have not tried stitching my papercrafts as yet, but I’m going to have to give it a try.

  7. I really LOVE this book! When you sewed the pages, what did you sew them on? Or did you just take a pile of paper scraps and sew them together? I would love to duplicate this look, I just have no idea how to do it!

Leave a Reply

