Vintage Bird Collage and Giveaway Announcement

Standard

I was chatting the other day with my dear friend Carol and she mentioned that I’ve been sharing mostly cards lately and she missed seeing my collages and altered art. So by request I created this collage(not a card : ) Thank you Carol for the motivation.

I started this project by painting and inking the back book board and the front chipboard frame with all the nice little windows. Layered between is a beautiful sheet of Pink Paislee paper with a chocolate brown border. I think the little windows create “architecture” and help separate the background pattern so it’s not too busy.

I trimmed some sweet little bird and ruler elements from a sheet of Webster’s Pages paper. There’s also a portion of inked doily to soften the edges and fill in the negative space. This section was finished off with just a nice length of ribbon and a  loopy bow.

The die cut image here is from Glitz.  I just love love love the crown : ) The burlap look of this card reminds me of the walls at Nichols Stafford…my new favorite home furnishings store in Dexter. They covered all their wall in burlap and its just so beautiful the warmth and texture. The color is just fabulous too. I will be on the lookout for some burlap to work into my collages : ) I stamped and inked the letter blocks and added them to the side. since the ruler and numbers both run in one direction I thought it would be nice to have the letters go the other way.

The little cardboard element here is to add texture and created simply by running craft paper through the crimper then adding a dry brush of white acrylic paint and inking the edges. The portion that resembles a library card is from My Mind’s Eye.  I embellished the lovely image of a button card from Graphic’s Fairy with super tiny clips from Tim Holtz. The larger metal embellishment is too. I do love to add mismatched vintage buttons for interest.

I spent some time on my busy afternoon handing out flyers and meeting more of my new shop neighbors. So nice to be welcomed into a great community. Thanks to everyone for making me feel at home.

Don’t forget to mark your calendars on Sunday May 6th. We will be posting a super fabulous prize giveaway to celebrate  our first month in our new shop location in Dexter Michigan. You definitely don’t want to miss out on a chance to win. I’ve included Graphic 45papers and bling and flowers and Dusty Attic chipboard and Melissa Frances embellishments and glassine bags. Lot’s of fun goodies like the ones I use in my cards and projects. Good luck to all who enter : )

7 responses »

  1. Don’t know how I missed this post but I’ve just seen it on the Graphic Fairy’s site and its fabulous! So much detail and gorgeous colours. Thanks for all the details and helpful hints too. Margie x

Leave a Reply

