Thinkin Outside My Comfort Zone

Standard

I’ve been trying to stretch myself creatively by using colors outside my normal comfort level. The delivery from My Mind’s Eye provided me with lot’s of new options so I won’t be stuck in a paper rut.

This card in yellows was super fun to make and features a large glittery die cut. I sewed around the edges for a little extra detail. I also added some vintage buttons with mismatched thread.

I layered the die cut over a clipped out doily image also from a sheet of M.ME. paper.  Inking was a very important step to help separate the patterns. I also created little banner shapes and positioned them under the die cut to give the impression of a larger embellishment. I finished this sunshiny card with a simple ribbon and bow with little paper roses and twine.

This card has more of that fabulous green dot from my French calendar pocket project from yesterday. I trimmed it with a length of white flower ribbon. There’s also an inked paper doily and vintage buttons.

This sweet vintage image is from Graphic’s Fairy. Love it!!! I layered it over a Tim Holtz ticket and button card from Crate. There’s a nice border of craft paper to anchor the light colors and separate the patterns. I got lucky in the button stash and had a green button that matched perfectly and tops off a simple creme colored bow.

Okay so that was my living on the edge projects : ) I challenge you all to do something a little different. 

Thanks to all you you who visited me in my crafty little world today : )

4 responses »

  1. These are both so very pretty, I’m totally drooling over #2.. love the green background and browns throughout! Graphics Fairy is such an awesome site! Wish I had a color printer!! Did you by any chance get in the Miss Caroline line yet? 😉

Leave a Reply

