Practical + Pretty = Shabby Chic Pen Holder

Standard

Just popping in with a quick post this morning. I want to get out and run my errands while the sky is filled with beautiful sunshine. I get to visit the super nice Mary Kaye today while I’m in Dexter : ) taking care of some shop details. She helped us pick colors and flooring for the new building. Such a pleasure it was to work with her : )

So here is a little project for the shop. We are remaking the checkout counter to better reflect our vintage style with some nice creamy white paneling and trim. I recently finished using the instant coffee(gasp!!!!) that was in this glass jar. Yes I will drink instant occasionally….desperate times do call for desperate measures : ) The shape of the jar was just calling out to me to make a pen holder since the top is narrow…and the bottom is wide to keep all the pens standing up and not tipped over.

I just love how it turned out. The french text on the rim and layers of the flower is from a beautiful vintage image from Graphics Fairy. I inked it well to add instant age.

See how well it works to keep things standing up??? I will really have to invest in some nicer pens though. LOL

Another pretty fabric flower I have been so obsessed with making lately. I topped this one off with a fancy shmancy bling center and wrapped some dreamy colored natural fibers around the outside to soften the edge. The ribbon that is layered on top of the lace started out pale creamy white. I inked it with several different colors of Tim Holtz Distress Ink and Stampin Up ink. I then stamped a french script on with black ink to blend with the clipart on top.

So much for a short post right????LOL Guess I talk too much even when I’m typing. Anyway…I can’t wait to put my new shabby chic pen holder to use in the shop soon!!!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

