Merry Christmas to all……

Standard

Well the kiddos are still sleepin in and so is the Dear Husband. We are definitely going to have ourselves a white Christmas here after a lovely snowstorm yesterday. Our plans are not taking us too far from home so it should be a calm and simple day. 

This little project I’m sharing I created to decorate my shop. I turned my Christmas village shabby chic : ) Lot’s of glitter and flocking and paint. And of course some beautiful trim from RRR. I had the perfect little shelf to display it and it’s got my favorite pink in the background swoon.

IMG_0534              The little trees I bleached last week look perfectly shabby with my little houses.

IMG_0537Of course the village looked like the typical set. I started out by spray painting them to neutralize the background then gave them a base coat of winter white. Next I mixed the paints I liked to tone them down and give them a vintagy look. I used several types of glitter and flocking to create the look of a Putz house. As usual the glitter was EVERYWHERE. I’m sure I even ate some with my lunch lol. I’m sparkly on the inside : )

IMG_0542In order to maintain the look I wanted…I didn’t get crazy with the details…relying on subtlety to tell a quiet story of shabby chic. This little church is the centerpiece…as it should be : ) Just a bit of silvery glitter to dress the windows was all it needed.

IMG_0535Tinsel glitter was the perfect choice for the roofs. Along with flocking  where the snow would have been.

IMG_0532I used a small picture frame with a book page as a backdrop. I’ll be on the lookout now for some other little treasures to tuck into the scenery.

IMG_0529Are you thinking to yourself that it must have taken a long time to paint around all those details? Yep it sure did lol. But since this is going to be a display I put up every year…it was worth the extra effort.

IMG_0533All of the houses have little windows so next year I’ll be adding lights to the inside.

IMG_0528

I dressed the front of the shelves with my new favorite Juliet lace in natural from Really Reasonable Ribbon.

IMG_0538All the pale colors were making it look a bit floaty. I decided to add some of the unbleached trees in to anchor the light colors.

IMG_0546The fun part of starting a new collection is not having every little bit right away…I’m looking forward to the hunt for more key pieces to add to fill in. I think I’ll be looking for some lamp posts and signage along with some characters to stage in the scene. OOHHH and also some vintage deer.

IMG_0522There’s the little tree I added garland to.

IMG_0509I’m planning to add signs to the tops of the doors here. I think this one will be Polly’s Paperie.

IMG_0518

From the side you can really get the feel of the different glitters. I just love the curve of the shelves….very girly.

Well I hope this inspires you to take a second look at some of your seasonal decor. Maybe you have outgrown the style? Why not give it a makeover. My little village was not a valuable collectable….so I wasn’t too concerned that it might not turn out like I had hoped. But it certainly did and I’m so glad I made the old new again and gave it a new life : ) Who knows…maybe I’ll leave it up year round.

Thanks to all of you who stop in to visit me in my little corner of the world. I’m so very privileged to share my creations with you all. I hope they inspire you to take the time to be creative everyday. Wishing you all a Happy, Healthy, and Blessed Christmas and New Year. I hope you have a day full of magic.

P.S. thanks for all the well wishes for our little Tinker. He is home now and on the mend : ) That is truly a gift indeed.

7 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness…I am soooo glad you shared this! I had been sitting looking at my sad looking village of different style/brand houses the other day and wishing they looked more like they belonged together! Painting them would be the best trick to bring them together! And not only that but now I won’t be afraid to buy another that isn’t of the same style/brand. Oh, you may have started trouble with this one! LOL
    Merry Christmas! Glad Tinker is home to spend it with you!

  2. Wow ! Wonderful work! Now you are giving me a way to recycle my older little village! New year will be busy working on those little houses…
    Very very nice…it would be wonderful n my studio!

  3. re: you might have had some glitter with your lunch. You MUST be sparkly on the inside 100 percent of the time to create such gorgeous work. Love these. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Carolann

    ________________________________

  4. Just to let you know Ginny, I have moved – into your magical village. My house is the Victorian. It looks so delicious I could eat it like cake.. In fact everything about this fantasy town is so delightful. You are a magician Ginny. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas day (especially with the beautiful Tinker by your side). All the very best for the coming New Year to you and your splendid family. A million hugs. Virginia

  5. wow, what a great look it’s truly magical just ready for that special something, lots of beautiful snow for the holidays, how perfect. may you have a joyous christmas and a very happy new year to you and the boys.

  6. I have been missing my villages the last few years while we have been doing renovations but I have promised myself that Christmas 2013 they will be coming out of hiding. And now I can’t hardly wait to give them a spruce up. I love the tip on the bleached trees. What fun!
    Thank you for sharing and I hope you had a great Christmas and are looking forward to a wonderful 2013. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

