Father’s Day Card

Standard

Sometimes it’s a challenge for me to make masculine projects. I really love to add lot’s of details and ribbon and flowers and embellishments. So the question is…how do you embellish with layers…but keep it from being feminine? You mix in lot’s of warm colors and vintage images like the ones from Graphic’s Fairy.

I started with the great plaid pattern from Paper Loft and bordered in brown. The typography is from Jenni Bowlin. All layers were well inked.

I choose a  chocolate colored ribbon and made a nice loopy bow. To top that off I added twine and a vintage button. I trimmed a few clock faces from a sheet of Graphic 45 paper and added a chunky chipboard tag.

I layered the vintage golfing image onto a border that’s actually a journal card from American Crafts. A simple painted and inked chipboard frame on top with a fun little ticket stub . Yes I did add a doily to a masculine card….but I’ll bet you didn’t even notice it until I said something right??? It’s pretty subtle…but works well to break up some of the typography. There’s a few vintage buttons to finish this card off. This card is going out to my Dad Michael in Texas. He is a golfer…but not a pipe smoker lol. Hope he loves it as much as I love him!

I’m entering this card in the Really Reasonable Ribbon challenge for fathers day/masculine cards. Wish me luck! : )

11 responses »

  1. I also have a time with masculine cards. Yours is just beautiful. You used some of my favorite collections, RRR-Jenni Bowlin-Graphic 45-and of course Graphic’s Fairy.

  2. I’ve said the same thing…I want to add glimmer and ribbons and girly girl stuff. I find my masculine cards to be boring.. to me anyway. This is not boring. Good luck with the challenge.

  3. The best of luck to you! I absolutely LOVE all your wonderful projects and visit you every day. You are such an inspiration!
    Love, Maria

  4. Hi G. Oh my, wonderful card. Your dad will love it. One of the first things I noticed was the doily. It really works. Would never have thought to use one on a masculine card. tfs. Have a great weekend.
    Regards Florence xx

Leave a Reply

