Shabby Chic French Flourish

Standard

After years of being off the early morning shift  starting at 4 am my internal clock still says ” wakey wakey” well before the sun comes up. Even on the weekends. So I tip toe around with just a few lights on and try to get some creating done while the house is nice and quiet. A true luxury in a home with 2 teenage boys. This morning I was in the mood for extreme shabby chic.

I just love all the dreamy neutral layers here. I did a lot of paper piecing to make a nice scallop border for the lovely French image from Graphics Fairy. Inking is essential when working with pale shades. I choose Walnut Distress Ink from Tim Holtz. The papers are from My Mind’s Eye. I also choose to border with craft paper. Turns out to be a happy accident that the typography on the pattern is French also : )

This image is so beautiful. I did a fair amount of fussy cutting to remove her from the background. She has a sweet little bird perched on her hand : )

I made this flower last week. But the mischievous Lily snagged it and ran off with it and I just found it under the table leg this morning. I used a natural fiber to soften the edge. The blingy brad center is from Spare Parts. We carry them in the shop Woo Hoo so you know I’ll be making a lot of fluffy flowers.

I just love the dimension from ruffled fabric. I choose a blush colored ribbon to make a simple bow.

I may decide to frame this for the shop….but until then it’s a card for anyone who loves vintage.

The menfolk are on their way to a movie. Star Wars in 3d is not the flick for me. I hope they enjoy their afternoon out. I am planning to keep on crafting. And maybe make chili and beer bread???

7 responses »

  1. I love the soft subtle colours on this. The image is fabulous and your flower is gorgeous. Great how you’ve brought all the elements together to make a super vintage card which yes, would look lovely in a frame.

Leave a Reply

